The Air Medical Physician Association is an international organization committed to patient-focused, quality critical care transport medicine by promoting excellence in medical direction, research, education, safety, leadership, and collaboration.

After careful monitoring of the rapidly changing situation related to COVID-19, understanding that concerns for health, safety, and the impact on meeting attendance, among other issues, are affecting our conference, the difficult decision has been made to cancel CCTMC for 2020.  
We are committed to maintaining appropriate health and safety measures, and we encourage you to follow guidelines recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the World Health Organization.  
CCTMC attendees and exhibitors will be issued a full refund or may choose to roll theirregistration to the 2021 conference.  Watch our websites, Facebook and www.CCTMC.net for details for 2021 as they become available in the near futureYou won’t want to miss it!
Best regards,



AMPA Distinguished Physician

The Distinguished Physician Award was established in 1993 to recognize a physician who has significantly contributed to the Air Medicine profession and to recognize lifetime achievement and service to the Air Medical community.  The AMPA Board of Trustees will select the award recipient from nominations of AMPA members submitted by the membership in writing to the AMPA office by September 18, 2020.

Past AMPA Distinguished Physicians

Current AMPA Board of Trustee Members are not eligible

Alex Jablonowski, MD – ‘93
Henry C. Bock, MD – ‘94
Nicholas Benson, MD – ‘95
Lenworth Jacobs, MD – ‘96
Norman Snow, MD – ‘97
Frank Thomas, MD ‘98
William Rutherford, MD – ‘99
Ira J. Blumen, MD – ‘00
Richard Orr, MD – ‘01

David J. Dries, MD – ‘02
Kenneth Williams, MD – ‘03
Gregory Powell, MD – ‘04
Robert E. Falcone, MD – ‘05
Catherine Carrubba, MD – ‘06
Stephen H. Thomas, MD – ‘07
Kenneth Robinson, MD – ‘08
Eric R. Swanson, MD – ‘09
Michael W. Brunko, MD – ‘10

Laurie Romig, MD – ‘11
Richard Orr, MD – ‘12
Jack B. Davidoff, MD – ‘13
Daniel G. Hankins, MD – ‘14
Russell D. MacDonald, MD – ‘15
No candidate – ‘16
Michael Abernethy, MD – ‘17
Andrew Berry, AM MB BS FRACP – ‘18
No candidate – ‘19

Medical Director of the Year

 It is time for nominations for AMPA’s Medical Director of the Year

In 2000, the Air Medical Physician Association instituted a new annual award in addition to the yearly Distinguished Physician Award. In contrast to the Distinguished Physician Award, which is intended to recognize lifetime achievement and service to AMPA and the air medical community, the Medical Director of the Year is intended to recognize that physician who has made outstanding contributions to his or her own program.

For that reason, AMPA asks that nominations for this award of recognition come from individual programs.  We would like to hear from the flight crews, administrators, and/or program staff about the outstanding contributions of their medical director.

The nominee should be an AMPA member and have shown exceptional personal involvement in the program. We are looking for those that are considered an invaluable part of the team’s success and whose contributions to medical direction, education, quality care, outreach, safety, and team morale to be part of the essential fabric of the program…in short, a leader.

Nominations should be in the form of a one-page letter, which outlines qualities for which the medical director should be recognized. Nominations should be made electronically to Pat Petersen at the AMPA office to ppeter1111@aol.com by September 18, 2020.

Current AMPA Board members are not eligible for the award.

Past Medical Directors of the Year:

2000 – Jeff Hillesland, MD – Gundersen Lutheran MedLink AIR
2001 – Eric R. Swanson, MD – University of Utah AirMed
2002 – Jack B. Davidoff, MD – Mercy Flight Central
2003 – James G. Leker, MD – Baptist Life Flight
2004  – Mark E. Maertins, MD – AIRLIFE Denver
2005  – Andrew C. Hawk, MD – Care Flight Air & Mobile
2006 – Charles Sheppard, MD – St. John’s Life Line
2007 – David Meurer, MD – Shandscair
2008 – Douglas Floccare, MD – MIEMSS
2009 – Thomas Scaggs, MD – Carle Foundation Life Flight

2010 – Howard Werman, MD – MedFlight of Ohio
2011 – Peter Meyer, MD – Air Link at Regional West
2012 – Norm Dinerman, MD – Life Flight of Maine
2013 – Ira J. Blumen, MD – University of Chicago Aeromedical Network
2014 – Michael Brunko, MD – Flight for Life Colorado
2015 – Suzanne K. Wedel, MD – Boston Med Flight
2016 – Catherine Carrubba, MD – Aeromed – Tampa General Hospital
2017 – R. J. Frascone, MD – Life Link III
2018 – David Thomson, MD – EastCare
2019 – William Hinckley, MD – Air Care & Mobile Care – University of Cincinnati

2020 Election of Officers




Principles & Direction of Air Medical Transport, 2nd Ed. 


Exhibitor Opportunities


Medical Director Core Curriculum

The Medical Director Core Curriculum is offered as a preconference to the annual Air Medical Transport Conference (AMTC). The AMPA Board of Trustees determined at the April 2003 Board meeting that offering a core curriculum process is relevant to the success of physicians managing critical care air and ground medical transport teams. The Core Curriculum is offered in three parts, which do not need to be taken consecutively, and covers topics in Principles and Direction of Air Medical Transport, a publication of AMPA. The sessions will be of interest to physicians just starting as medical directors, as well as those who are experienced. The preconference also offers an opportunity for physicians to network and presents a forum for interactive discussion.

The AMPA Medical Director Core Curriculum recognized and recommended by CAMTS as background training for a Medical Director of a critical care transport program that is applying for accreditation or undergoing reaccreditation.

MDs completed course